Reviews



Cheap & cheerful - Rating 4/5

You get what you pay for. Welcoming staff, basic but comfortable rooms and a cheap pint. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Alan C | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Business trip - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay room clean & comfortable, evening meal in bar was great & cooked breakfast was provided at 6.30am!!!Would recommend & will return next year.

Reviewer:Wendy B | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


GREAT TIME - Rating 5/5

Had a great time at Coldstream and the Newcastle Arms Hotel

Reviewer:john m | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Stayed here with a couple of mates for a cycling weekend in the borders and Rob, Michelle, Kat and Gemma couldn't have done any more for us than they did. Great welcome, rooms ideal, great breakfast and Saturday night in the bar was a scream. Looking forward to my next birthday for an excuse to go again !

Reviewer:Gary L | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Needed to stay in the area for 1 night for work, staff were friendly, room was clean and breakfast was just what was needed to set us up for the day.

Reviewer:Douglas S | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff. Delicious breakfast.Requested porridge and they kindly made me some.

Reviewer:Stephen C | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Golf weekend - Rating 4/5

Staff very good breakfast very good and bar excelant. A very good weekend had by all

Reviewer:alan w | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff were most helpful and polite. After a long drive it was nice to find a warm welcome in a cosy establishment. I would recommend this Hotel.

Reviewer:David C | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend this hotel and the owner Robin went above and beyond what I expected.

Reviewer:border c | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Coldstream guards- Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we found the experience in the Newcastle arms first class, the staff were polite and friendly, the breakfast was excellent,

Reviewer:john w | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Mr - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay enormously. Our room needed a little finishing but was comfortable with a refurbished bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful - breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:David T | Tue 31st Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


My overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Great pub good atmosphere, stayed in room 11 was great breakfast was bang on and staff were so nice especially Gemma in the bar

Reviewer:Nick D | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Great place- Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay staff were friendly and helpful. We would recommend the Newcastle Arms Hotel. The room we stayed in was clean. We would stay again

Reviewer:Margaret W | Sat 14th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Coldstream - Rating 4/5

Lovely place .Great staff .Just a pity we didn't know there was live music on that nightbit loud but hey ho we coped . Breakfast was excellentxx

Reviewer:Mrs. KirsteenDen H | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Newcastle arms well worth the stay - Rating 5/5

The staff were very helpful and friendly.The room was clean and tidy plus the breakfast was top notch I will definitely use this place again if I am in the area.

Reviewer:kevin w | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Dog friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

A friendly hotel , the food was good .The rooms were clean .Dog friendly as we were going to a dog show ,Would use again .

Reviewer:Stephen M | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Comfortable and pet friendly - Rating 4/5

Good value for money, friendly staff and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Allison B | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Welcoming - Rating 4/5

Very friendly staff. Very welcoming and very pet friendly. excellent breakfast. Small car park but plenty of street parking nearby. Coldstream nice place too

Reviewer:Colin W | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Fishing trip - Rating 5/5

Good stay, very friendly staff, great bar with Good food and in the morning a fantastic breakfast that set me up for a day on the river

Reviewer:Tim M | Fri 11th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Hotel Rating - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed a very comfortable night at the Newcastle Arms also a lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Brian G | Tue 8th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Return visit to Newcastle Arms - Rating 5/5

A very friendly welcome.Nothing any trouble.Breakfast excellent - all freshly cooked to order.Hope to return.Bed maybe a little too soft!Alex

Reviewer:Alex h | Tue 8th May 2018 | 6 months ago


comfortable and friendly - Rating 4/5

Comfortable accommodation, everyone friendly and helpful, good food. Would coerainly stay again.

Reviewer:Jennifer L | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Excellent value - Rating 4/5

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with our dog. This is a very good budget pub/hotel centrally located with good local amenities. The bar is traditional (fast disappearing) and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable but be careful of the hot water! It's hot. Breakfast was first class,cooked to order and to individual specifications. Would happily return.

Reviewer:Derkje S | Wed 31st Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


New year - Rating 4/5

Four of us stayed here over New Year period, lovely comfortable warm rooms. Full Scottish Breakfast very very good, and the staff & Manager very helpful and polite. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Stephen B | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


Friendly folk and good food - Rating 4/5

A friendly hotel right on the High Street, easy walking distance of all amenities and immaculately clean. Everything we needed for a short stay.Breakfast was first class and the lunch time bar food delicious.Staff were attentive and helpful and when we visit Coldstream again this will be first choice. Small car park to rear and wifi great. Thanks to all for a lovely visit.

Reviewer:| Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Overnight by the Tweed - Rating 4/5

Stayed at the hotel as part of a walk from Edinburgh to Berwick. I found the owners welcoming and there was a pleasant atmosphere in the bar, which offered decent-value meals, well-kept Guinness and live football on the big screen. The room was en-suite, warm enough in November and perfectly adequate for my purposes.

Reviewer:Vincent F | Thu 30th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Hotel stay - Rating 4/5

Room clean and comfortable. Staff very polite and helpful.

Reviewer:David C | Fri 24th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Hotel stay. - Rating 4/5

Room clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly polite and helpful.

Reviewer:David C | Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


excellent value for money - Rating 5/5

Stayed here on a business trip for one night 12/10/17 and also had my faithfull collie with me. Very friendly staff and cheap prices in the bar for drinks. Fantastic full english breakfast in the morning too.

Reviewer:vincent n | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


welcome , welcome - Rating 5/5

A very friendly set of staff we met and very good meals available.Will be back - ThanksNothing to complain about.

Reviewer:rod k | Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Although we only stayed overnight, we felt very welcome. The room was very clean & bed comfortable. Breakfast was very good, plenty of it and cooked just the way we liked it. We would stay in this hotel again in the future.

Reviewer:Douglas S | Wed 13th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Happy times - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay comfortable room excellent on suite the best breakfast and very nice people thanks

Reviewer:Stuart H | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend away- Rating 3/5

We needed a break after my husband had knee surgery, all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. bed was very comfy and breakfast was substantial, too much for us.

Reviewer:Thomas P | Tue 5th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Spacious family room. Comfy beds. Plenty of hot water. Delicious and filling breakfast. Would stay again

Reviewer:amanda l | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Holiday - Rating 5/5

Well starting with the staff you couldn't of asked for anymorelooked after all week and very nice people, and then onto the food the full breakfast was excellent set us up for the day and the food on the evening was excellent to. Thank you for making our holiday such a pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Alison T | Sat 2nd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Pleasant Hotel - Rating 3/5

Room very clean, adequately furnished. Lively bar. Breakfast was excellent !

Reviewer:Alan T | Mon 28th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Golf weekend - Rating 3/5

Clean & comfortableroomsNice friendly staff. Food typical pub food.

Reviewer:Jan C | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Golf weekend - Rating 3/5

Clean & comfortableroomsNice friendly staff. Food typical pub food.

Reviewer:Jan C | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Golf weekend - Rating 3/5

Clean & comfortableroomsNice friendly staff. Food typical pub food.

Reviewer:Jan C | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Golf weekend - Rating 3/5

Clean & comfortableroomsNice friendly staff. Food typical pub food.

Reviewer:Jan C | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Golf weekend- Rating 4/5

Clean & comfortableroomsNice friendly staff. Food typical pub food.Very central

Reviewer:Jan C | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


??? - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and friendly pleasant staff.

Reviewer:William C | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


coldstream - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the newcastle arms hotel coldstream was wonderful excellent hosts and really friendly staff, guests and customers. the rooms were comfortable very clean and good facilities. enjoyed our stay very much

Reviewer:Mr. Jennifer barnes| Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff made my sister and I and 2 little dogs very welcome. Lovely walks not far away for the dogs. Room very clean and comfortable bathroom excellent so up was the breakfast.

Reviewer:Kate g | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

Second visit this year. Staff are greatvery helpful and nice. Food was excellent especially the Beef and Ale pie amazing. Five star breakfast. Rooms have been done up and are great. Will be back.

Reviewer:Edna M | Thu 13th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

We were supposed to stay 2 days but I was unwell so had to go home after one night. The hotel was comfortable although in need of some repair. The food and the service was excellent as were the staff, I will go back if I'm in the area again.

Reviewer:Jim A | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely place with great staff - Rating 5/5

I arrived as the kitchen was closing,after a long drive, but they still cooked me a lovely tea. At breakfast they went out to get me some gluten free bread for my toast! I will definitely return!

Reviewer:ruth v | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


french breeders visit to Scotland- Rating 5/5

Very good , confortable andclean . To be recommanded to other frenchhereford and angus breeders

Reviewer:p | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Break in Coldstream- Rating 5/5

From arrival to departure we were so welcomed and looked after. Nothing was to much trouble. All the staff from the boss to bar staff were so accommodating. Great central location for touring. We had a lovely time, breakfast was great quality and served piping hot at a time to suit you. Well done Robert & your staff for making our stay so special xxx

Reviewer:karen T | Wed 14th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


short break - Rating 4/5

very relaxing break.Very friendly staff.Good food. just what we needed

Reviewer:ann m | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


golf outing- Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay staff very helpful and friendly

Reviewer:Paul C | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely weekend- Rating 5/5

We had a fishing trip organised my friendCame up from south England and myself from Aberdeen .The hotel was great and staff all lovely .

Reviewer:Mike K | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Stay at Newcastle Arms Hotel - Rating 4/5

This was a very welcoming hotel.The room was well presented but the bed was far too soft for my liking!Breakfast wonderful and freshly cooked to order.Clean and very pleasant.Staff friendly.

Reviewer:Alex H | Tue 9th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Good value - Rating 3/5

Good value and a lovely fresh room with great shower. Only issue was no internet access in my room although my colleague had good internet access in her room.

Reviewer:FORBES T | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Good b&b- Rating 4/5

Lovely stay, rooms clean and good size, very friendly staff with good breakfast. Perfect for what we was needing few days at a agility show staying with dogs

Reviewer:Kelly M | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Newcastle arms hotel- Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable,friendly staff best breakfast ever

Reviewer:James P | Tue 18th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


first class hotel - Rating 5/5

Owner and staff were very helpfull breakfast lasted nearlyall day and was good and plentiful. Dinner was plain well cooked and plentiful all in all a fabulous place to stay.

Reviewer:Thomas T | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


A trip to the races - Rating 5/5

A friendly and welcoming hotel. Ideal location for Kelso races (11mile away)A well stocked bar at good prices. Friendly staff and customers alike.Definitely will return

Reviewer:paul g | Wed 5th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend in Coldstream.- Rating 4/5

Very helpful and friendly staff, room was clean and uncluttered, breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:John K | Mon 27th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Our stay at the Newcastle Arms - Rating 3/5

Nice warm welcome big room good breakfast

Reviewer:ingirid m | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


No bother - Rating 5/5

Hotel may be be a bit tired but this adds charm to your stay. Room was large and showerroom newly refurbished. Food was Fantastic but best of all the staff, nothing was a bother to them they were all very friendly and all made a big fuss of our dog so thank you everyone at the Newcastle Arms

Reviewer:Patrick G | Tue 3rd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Newcastle arms - Rating 2/5

Staff were very nice nothing was any trouble and always smiled. Rooms are a bit dated. Carpets ,curtains and bed linen need renewed ,always fresh towels and rooms cleaned every day.

Reviewer:Linda P | Tue 3rd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Freindly Staff and Great Breakfast - Rating 3/5

We had a warm welcome and were shown to our room, which was up in the attic. We were given the option to change but the room seemed nice enough and had a private bathroom (no shower) so it felt like we had a little flat to ourselves with its private staircase. However, becaware that the ceilings are low in the bedroom and bathroom and there is no central heating at all, which may not be a problem in the summer but we were there at the end of December. But we werre given an extra heater on request and offered an alternative room with radiators. We liked the room well enough to stay though, the extra heater helping. This is a country pub with rooms, not a 5 star hotel, so it is more basic than others. But the staff were super friendly and the breakfast was as good as anywhere else.

Reviewer:Michael G | Tue 3rd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago